Is it fair or not?

WorldWebHosters sucks.

About one year ago, I bought this domain name (www.alexbrie.net) and some webhosting space from worldwebhosters . It was cheap and I wanted a cheap yet nice offer. I wasn’t very inspired, though. The service gave me lots of headackes, at first it didn’t work at all; eventually it did, but:

  • there was a link to a control panel application allowing me to configure my service: add new databases, new email accounts, etc. It didn’t work on my computer and on any other I had access to. It always threw HTTP exceptions. Eventually I managed to create a new database by installing by hand phpmyadmin. By hand meaning uploading every file by hand, since the proxy of the network I was on at the moment didn’t allow me to do ftp (I did, eventually, through net2ftp , a great web app I recommend).
  • the site worked very painfully; the apache server was outdated, and the latest features of textpattern didn’t work on it.
  • the site was down quite often, and there were no warning emails nor other customer service available

So, since March, I decided to switch to another webhosting service which I warmly recommend: Dreamhost (ps. if you decide to subscribe to it, please mention alexbrie as your referral; it won’t cost you anything, yet it will make me happy). Although 2.5 times more expensive, it offers 10 times more hosting space and 30 times more bandwidth. Plus lots of other services, like more web-languages support, free domain registration, subdomains and more.

So? What’s the problem?

The problem is that, although I haven’t been using the worldwebhosters account since March, without any warning email nor the possibility to unsubscribe, the guys over there automatically extended my subscription to their hosting plan. Which, btw, didn’t get any cheaper, but quite the opposite.
Ever since I found out that money have been taken from my bank account without my authorisation, I’ve been struggling to get it back, even partially, or at least to cease my subscription with them.
No success
Although they replied to my first email and required some security data in order to cancel the account, the guys over worldwebhosters didn’t bother to answer back; as for the stolen money… I keep on dreaming.

To follow my (almost)monologue with the guys, here is the link

 Is it fair or not?Sute de oameni citesc zilnic acest blog. Daca nu esti unul dintre ei, aboneaza-te prin email, Google Reader, Bloglines sau feed-icon16x16 Is it fair or not? orice altceva! Este gratis! :)

Articole inrudite

3 comentarii

  1. Publicat October 17, 2005 la 12:21 am | Permalink

    Welcome to the real world of hosting! I guess you know what happened with Neogen, but anyway here it is:
    http://www.cyberculture.ro/2005/03/ocoliti-neogen.html

  2. Publicat October 17, 2005 la 10:28 am | Permalink

    Am fost hostat – si pacalit – de http://www.gazduireweb.com/
    (
    Eu am trebuinta de ASP.NET … ceea ce e mai dificil in Romania.
    )
    Oricum, dupa mai bine de 6 luni de cind am incetat colaborarea cu ei, la ei exista in continuare linkul catre mine…
    http://www.gazduireweb.com/exemple.htm

    As putea sa le fac ceva?
    ( site-ul meu este http://www.infovalutar.ro)

  3. Radu Stoica
    Publicat January 10, 2006 la 9:55 am | Permalink

    Nu cred ceea ce spui de http://www.gazduireweb.com . eu am un site ColdFusion hostat la ei de 5 luni si nu am avut probleme, dimpotriva au un suport tehnic bine pus la punct. am verificat link-ul tau dar nu exista.

Lasa un comentariu

Your email is never shared. Campurile obligatorii sunt marcate cu *

*
*